20 February, 2018
Another terrific talk to start the year.
TUESDAY, 27 FEBRUARY at 7.30
In 1136 a book appeared that was to change history – literally. Geoffrey of Monmouth’s ”History of the Kings of Britain” detailed a fundamentily ‘British History’ that was accepted as genuine for 400 and more years. There was no place in it for the Roman Conquest of Britain, or for Londinium, capital of a province of the Roman Empire. Just that London had been ‘New Troy’, older than Rome and ruled by independent British kings like Lud, who built the city’s walls. Only in the 16th century did London historians question this story. With access to classical texts rediscovered during the Renaissance and spread by printing, and with the natives of the newly discovered America’s as models for an understanding of the ‘Ancient Britons’ described by Julius Caesar, they were better placed to interpret the nature of Roman London. Rebuilding works after the Great Fire revealed relics of this earlier London, and they were collected, recorded and discussed by antiquarians. Yet the popular belief that London was an already ancient city before the arrival of the Romans was hard to ignore.
John Clark was formerly Keeper of the Medieval Department at the Museum of London. Now retired he is Professor Emeritus. Do come along and here this fascinating, illustrated talk.
St Clements Church Hall, Fulham Palace Road, SW6
FREE (Non-members £3 includes refreshments)
21 September, 2017
Summer saw us having a truly revelatory visit to Buscot Park the home of Lord Farringdon with previously unseen drawings and documents by Charlotte Sulivan, a stand at the Parson’s Green Fair and summer Garden Party.
Now for the Winter programme we have two splendid talks and a show and tell evening with a Christmas Party in December. Full details are in the latest Newsletter here are the dates:
26 Sep 7:00pm The Development of the Peterborough Estate (Lion Houses) a talk by Peter Kulpa. Jesse Milne Centre Fulham Palace.
10 Oct 7:00pm A Proud Unthankefull City? – London & the English Civil Wars A Talk by David Flintham. Jesse Milne Centre Fulham Palace.
15 November 7:30pm Show and Tell – following last year’s success, a chance to talk about your and other’s pieces of history. At St Clements Church Hall, Fulham Palace Road.
11 December 7:00pm Members’ Christmas Buffet at Pryors Bank, Bishop’s Park Fulham.
Do note the two talks are slightly earlier and in the Palace Education Centre to ensure the best facilities.
To all those interested in our local history there can be no greater event than an archaeological dig. At our own Fulham Palace a search for the documented Dovecote and possible earlier medieval buildings will begin in October but your help is needed please look at the website and persuade your friends and local businesses to contribute. The Society will be making a significant donation but lots of help is needed. We eagerly await news of whatever they uncover.
16 July, 2016
Sun 17 July, 2pm
Moat Walk for the Festival of Archaeology
As part of the Festival of Archaeology, join this walk exploring the route of Fulham Palace’s former moat – the longest domestic moat in England. Learn more on the theories of its origin and why it was infilled in the 1920s.
Fulham Palace Moat
The walk will be led by local expert Keith Whitehouse, who carried out the first sectional excavations of the moat for Fulham Archaeological Rescue Group in 1982.
£5, accompanied children free
Booking essential, click here
Please meet by the fountain in the Tudor Courtyard
3 April, 2016
Sorry for the lack of posts recently but here is a catch up.
We had a superb talk from Natalie Cohen from the Museum of London Archaeology about the work at the shoreline to record our past. It was both an enthusiastic and fascinating presentation do check the Newsletter for a fuller writeup.138 Spring 2016
The AGM will be on Tuesday at 7:30pm in St Clements Church Hall, again full details in the newsletter.
ENTRIES FOR YOUR DIARY
Tuesday 10 May at 7:30pm
PLAYED IN HAMMERSMITH AND FULHAM
Simon Inglis, who edits the Played in Britain series for English Heritage, offers a lively illustrated lecture on the surprisingly rich and varied sporting and recreational heritage of Fulham and Hammersmith. Here is athletics as described by Wilkie Collins at Lillie Bridge, billiards on Fulham Palace Road, skittles with AP Herbert at the Black Lion and a plasterer called Joseph Bickley, whose ‘secret formula’ had racket-wielding aristocrats queuing at his workshop on Lillie Road. We shall hear how a Scottish engineer nipped between Stevenage Road and Fulham Road during the summer of 1905 to build new stadiums for rivals Fulham and Chelsea, and how a squash court in
the grounds of Latymer School was one of seven sports-related buildings listed by English Heritage in 2014-15 as a result of Inglis’s latest, award winning book, Played in London – Charting the Heritage of a City at Play. https://historicengland.org.uk/images-books/publications/played-inlondon/. Also to be revealed is how, in 1878, a field in Fulham hosted what is thought to have been the first sporting event ever to have taken place under floodlights in Britain. If not interested in sport, don’t be put off. The evening’s focus is on architecture and social history, with some capital fun guaranteed.
Talk will be held in St Clements Church Hall (see details above under AGM)
Tuesday 14 June 7pm
FROM PALACE TO PRISON – A WALK AROUND FULHAM OLD TOWN
Fulham as well as a palace has a prison, some of the buildings still survive. We will look at the site of the wooden Fulham Bridge and the ferry crossing, where the first Mercedes cars in Britain were built, the temperance billiard hall now a pub, the Fulham war memorial garden where a plaque commemorates a Victoria Cross winner, the surviving kiln of Fulham Pottery, the road that gave its name to a lavatory system and much more. A walk not to be missed. Led by Keith Whitehouse.
Meet outside the Eight Bells pub, 89 Fulham High Street. near the river at 7pm
(one of Fulham’s oldest pubs that has stood here for over 400 years) and perhaps a drink afterwards.
Sunday 24th July 3-5pm
Come and enjoy tea, cakes and conversation at 48 Peterborough Road, SW6 3EB on Sunday 24th July from 3 to 5pm the home of Sue and Lance Pierson. If it is fine we can spill into the garden. Parking is free. Parson’s Green is the nearest station a 10 to 15 minute walk away. Buses 28 and 295 go along the Wandsworth Bridge Road which is 5 minutes walk away. Number 48 is 2 doors from the junction with Daisy Lane.
14 February, 2016
Tuesday 16 February 7:30pm
This talk by Nathalie Cohen Head of Community Archaeology at the Museum of London Archaeology ( http://www.mola.org.uk ) will discuss discoveries made during investigations by the Thames Discovery Programme on the inter-tidal zone in London, including Richmond, Fulham, the Tower of London and Greenwich. http://www.thamesdiscovery.org/ The Thames has been central to London and its development through the centuries. A fascinating subject and we are lucky to have Nathalie to present the discoveries; one not to be missed.
Place: St Clements Church Hall, Fulham Palace Road, SW6 (near corner of Crabtree Lane,) Buses 74, 220, 424, 430 (stop outside), 190, 211, 295, (stop nearby in Lillie Road).
Do tell friends and others who might be interested, all welcome FREE.
26 March, 2014
Our Chairman Keith Whitehouse who directed the first archaeological excavations of the moat and Palace grounds in 1972-73 discovered a Romano-British settlement and prehistoric occupation as far back as 4000BC. A tour of the mile long circuit is an experience not to be missed.
Keith will lead the walk beginning 1430 Sunday 30 Mar 14 at the Bishops Avenue entrance to Fulham Palace. There will be a £5 donation to the Fulham Palace Trust towards the cost of an excavation in the Palace grounds later this year.
6 March, 2014
Museum of the Order of St John
Seven members/guests of the Society visited the Museum in Clerkenwell on Saturday, 22 February 2014. Most of us travelled to Farringdon Station, and negotiated our way around the hoardings above Crossrail’s excavations – part of Europe’s largest infrastructure project.
In the Crossrail Visitor Centre at Tottenham Court Road, for a month only to 15 March, a selection of archaeological finds from across the project are currently on display in its Portals to the Past exhibition.
But, that Saturday, we walked to another Gate, only five minutes away: St John’s Gate was the great south entrance to the Priory of Clerkenwell – founded in the early 1140s – outside the walls of the City of London. Now, it is the only gateway spanning a highway in London.
St John’s Gate taken by J B-D
At 11:30 am we met our Guide for an excellent private tour of the Grade 1 Listed buildings to discover the story of the former Priory and of the Order of St John from the 11th century to today’s role with St John Ambulance and the Eye Hospital in Jerusalem. As well as the 1504 Gate and its Towers, we saw the Tudor-style Chapter Hall, and Council Chamber. Crossing the busy Clerkenwell Road, we visited the Grand Priory Church, beside the herb garden – a quiet oasis. Above ground, the Church is a post-war restoration following destruction of the roof and most of the interior fittings by a bomb in 1941. Beneath, is a remarkable Norman crypt: all that remains visible of the original Priory. Of the effigies, that of William Weston, Prior 1527-1540 – looking completely emaciated – was the most moving. Weston, we were told, was the last Prior of the Order at the time of its dissolution in England under Henry VIII, and died of a broken heart on the very day the act went through. The public Museum Rooms contain displays exploring further the fascinating history of the Order of St John.
This FHHS visit proved really worthwhile; thank you Keith.
Museum of Order of St John Website
By Jane B-D/4 Mar 14